By Chris Pickup

The left side of Haldimand’s council table has changed with the election of three new councillors. Wards one, two and three went for new blood last night.

The overall turnout county-wide was low at 35.57%. However one observer noted long line-ups in Cayuga, which has been a hotbed of anger   over the last term.

Mayor Ken Hewitt handily won a third term with 6578 votes and just over 50% of the vote. Cayuga’s David McClung garnered  3,840 votes while Dunnville’s Lisa Taylor came in with 2,671 votes.

Ward 1: Stewart Patterson took this seat from Leroy Bartlett with 55.06% and 1,100 votes, 15% more than Bartlett who garnered 800 votes. Andrew Bergsma was at the rear with 90 votes.

Ward 2: This is the ward where incumbent Fred Morison found himself in deep trouble during the last term. He faced three contenders for his seat, and the constituents wreaked their revenge last night, kicking him to the curb with a miserable 22.24% and 491 votes. Taking his seat was John Metcalfe with 44.75% and 988 votes, followed by Ray Hunsinger with 543 votes. Donna Pitcher brought up the rear with 186 votes.

Ward 3: This has been another contentious ward with the pressures of seemingly unrestrained housing development and bridge and traffic problems. Dan Lawrence eked out a victory over incumbent Craig Grice, taking 39.89% and 1267 votes. Grice had 1,160 votes followed by Cheryl Beemer, who garnered 749.

Ward 4: Tony Dalimonte easily retained his seat with 67.77% and 1470 votes. Patrick Cook came in with 699 votes.

Ward 5: Incumbent Rob Shirton kept his seat with 57.38% and 855 votes. Marianne Kidd had 442 votes while Joey Tingle was last with 193.

Ward 6: Bernie Corbett romped home with 77.55% and 1,668 votes, while Julie Marchese brought in 483.

Hopefully the three new faces will help change the culture of arrogance that has been prevalent at the county over the past four years.

Grand Erie District School Board: Haldimand results only. Both trustees Doyle and Richardson were acclaimed

Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board: Haldimand results only. Mark Watson took the seat with 42.33%  and 533 votes. John Douglas Webb had 427 votes and Zak Horkoff 302.